Emmi Kaltbach Cave Aged Gruyere

2 things before I tell you about today’s cheese:

1. I’ve actually been to Gruyere, the idyllic town in the mountains of Switzerland famous for its cheese, and less famous for the H.R Giger museum. I’ve dipped bread and apples and potatoes in a warm vat of melted Gruyere at a local restaurant that I’m sure serves mostly tourists. But still, it was delicious.

This has nothing to do with anything, except now you think I have a make believe connection with this cheese. I don’t, but I totally sound legit now!

2. I forgot about taking a picture of this cheese before I ate most of it. So you just get to see the last few pieces of it. Sorry about that!

Now for my thoughts: I assume most everyone is familiar with Gruyere, or at least Swiss cheese. The Emmi brand is among the most popular with the Swiss folks, and consistently wins awards for their Kaltbach line of Gruyere’s. (Does that work as a plural? It does now.) This cheese had a firm texture, and the flavor was a bit prickly in my mouth. Does that make sense? I don’t think sharp is the right term. Maybe piquant? Whatever the word is, it’s got some tang. This is where the cave aging comes into play. It’s aged for 12 months, 9 of those months in a cave. This results in the spicy finish. Something to note is that the cheese is not salty at all, especially as the aftertaste lingers. And it’s got a few crystals that add a small crunch as you chew.
I actually wish I had purchased a bigger piece of this, as it would be amazing in a grilled cheese sandwich with thick sourdough and tomato.

Did I mention there was an H.R. Giger designed bar in Gruyere as well? There was.

About Ziggy Smallz

I rarely commit to anything, especially blogging. That is, except eating. I like to constantly taste new things. Whether it's a Bangkok back alley soup stand, or some weird veggie I pickled myself, I want to eat it. Except eggplant, because I'm strangely allergic to it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Emmi Kaltbach Cave Aged Gruyere

  1. Heather says:

    That one sounds fab. Where do you buy your cheeses?

  2. zaredian says:

    The Whole Foods by my office is always good for a lunchtime shop. And there are a few other spots around town, like LGO. I want to hit that Old Town farmer’s market soon, as i know they have some local stuff there.

  3. zaredian says:

    oh, the “try a cheese” basket at Whole Foods is awesome. Everything is less than 5 bucks.

  4. christy says:

    That baby wall is creepy.

  5. dale weber says:

    how horrible …..a wall of dead babies

Leave a Reply

