Cowgirl Creamery St. Pat

Cowgirl Creamery is at the top of their game right now, as far as being a “must-try” brand. Everywhere I look, people are singing their praises. By everywhere, I mean cheese people. So without researching which cheese to pick up, I chose St Pat. I checked the package, and it mentioned it was wrapped in nettles. Nettles? Do thorns get stuck in your mouth as you eat? Is it like licking Pinhead? I am not a masochist, but I needed to know. So this round came home with me.

Upon unwrapping, the rind was white, with bunches of green from the leaves peeking though. No sharp parts though. I learned that the leaves are frozen and the stickers are removed before the cheese is wrapped.

The bloomy rind cut very easily. The cheese was runnier on the outside and cakier in the middle. The flavor was real mellow with a satin like texture. A mixture of sweet and nutty, with a vegetabley taste. I assume this is partly from the leaves. Delicious, but subtle. This would be a great cheese for beginners, a gateway cheese that your Health Ed. teacher warned you would usher you into the harder stuff. However, since I’m a grown ass man, I’m already into the hard stuff. So as delicious as this is, it was kind of a disappointment. Not because of the flavor or the texture or the smell or because of my distaste for western wear, but because I wanted some of the good shit. The smellier stuff. If you plan on making a cheese board, I would pick this up as a first course. Or if you plan on tricking your boyfriend who eats like a 5th grader to try something other than Kraft slices, this may work too.

About Ziggy Smallz

I rarely commit to anything, especially blogging. That is, except eating. I like to constantly taste new things. Whether it's a Bangkok back alley soup stand, or some weird veggie I pickled myself, I want to eat it. Except eggplant, because I'm strangely allergic to it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Cowgirl Creamery St. Pat

  1. Matthew Kenny says:

    Have you tried any of the cheeses at http://www.sproutcreekfarm.org/
    on Lauer Road in Lagrange? I’ve gone vegan, but I used to love her…er…them cheeses. Also, I believe I crashed into this farm in my parents’ Chevy Cavalier circa 1991.

  2. zaredian says:

    No sir, i’m not familiar with them, but i foresee a field trip next time i visit my folks. Thanks for the tip!
    And speaking of vegan, i made killer tofu and spinach enchilada’s 2 nights ago. I could probably be vegan if cheese was a plant.

  3. Rose says:

    Hey Zared! Loving your blog, I love cheese too! As for the Cowgirl Creamery cheeses, they have one with a washed rind, I think that may be more what you’re looking for. I think it’s called Red Hawk. The Mt Tam is great too if you want a nice rich triple cream cheese. Although it doesn’t beat Brillat Savarin, at the cheese shop I go to they call that one crack cheese.

    Sprout Creek is a great stop when you’re back in Po-town. Super cute farm with goats and really tasty cheeses. A nice activity for the whole family. 🙂

Leave a Reply

