Cypress Grove Humboldt Fog


Heck yes! This is the post I’ve been planning on writing for 2 weeks. That’s because, this is currently my favorite cheese. Seriously, i want this inside of me all the time. The texture, the smell, the taste; it’s not as pretty as your girlfriend, but it sure can cook, and it knows way more dirty jokes.

Humboldt Fog is a chevre (goat cheese) made by Cypress Grove Farms in northern Cali. I’ve tried quite a few of their goods, and while all delicious, I always come back to this one. The grayish white, bloomy rind and the layer of vegetable ash in the middle give it some character and make it more interesting to look at than your regular chevre log. The middle is a bright white and is creamy and chalky, like the goat cheese on your salad, but it’s surrounded by a gooier ivory colored layer , then some more ash and the rind. Humboldt Fog has an aroma that reminds me of a tangier, goatier buttermilk. Goatier? Eh, makes sense to me.

And the best part, the taste. It’s got some tang, but the vegetable ash adds a bit of sweetness to it. The aftertaste sticks around a bit, making me crave more. I’ve enjoyed it on crackers with some preserves, and all by its lonesome. Let it sit out at room temperature for 20 minutes before you dive in as well. I think this enhances the flavor a bit more and gives the outer layer some time to ooze.
I rarely buy a cheese more than once or twice since there are so many I haven’t tasted yet, but I’ve purchased this 4 times already. That’s got to say something. So go and try this one. If you don’t like it, send it to me. I’ll totally eat it. In one bite. And chances are, you may even get a nice thank you note on your Facebook wall.

And while I’m at it, I’m taking constructive criticism. Things you would like to see in this blog, things you would like me to add, etc. I’ve never written a blog before, so I’m easing into it. But I will take all your ideas into consideration. So far, readers have suggested I categorize the types of cheese I taste, and have a stinky cheese scale. I’m still working on the scale, but I have added the category option to this post. I hope this is what you had in mind.

In other news, my last post about St Pat had 90 views. That’s big time, bitches! Most likely though, my mother read it 67 times, 5 people glanced it in their Google Reader, 10 people clicked through on my Facebook link, and 8 people stumbled here accidentally while trying to find EX-ZI Gloves for cycling.

About Ziggy Smallz

I rarely commit to anything, especially blogging. That is, except eating. I like to constantly taste new things. Whether it's a Bangkok back alley soup stand, or some weird veggie I pickled myself, I want to eat it. Except eggplant, because I'm strangely allergic to it.
This entry was posted in Bloomy Rind, Chevre. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cypress Grove Humboldt Fog

  1. natalie says:

    hilarious as always. ❤

  2. Eva/Nanci says:

    I can already tell you I’ll like this one… Love me some Chevre!

Leave a comment