Gummiberry Jews

I hope everyone’s weekend was rad. Mine definitely was! It consisted of, in no particular order (and mind you, I’m only listing the high points. Nothing mid-grade, like seeing Cloud Atlas, which also happened): steak tips, farmers market, winning pickles, drunken Guitar Hero, pizza and hot dogs at the same time like a middle school birthday party, loungin’ around all lazy style, Nam Yaa, Bed, Bath & Beyond, and a urinary tract infection.

From the freezer to the afterlife, via my tummy.

As fun and exhausting as all that sounds (I’m STILL drinking cranberry juice!), the  highlight was definitely the Gummy Bear blind tasting.  What?! I know, right! I was totally stoked too! Everyone knows my fave candy is frozen gummy bears.  And I finally had the opportunity to  put my tasting skills to the test.  Most assume that as a gummy bear steward, I was classically trained in the premiere gummy program at Schwarzwald Fachhochschule in Eastern Germany. But SURPRISE!- I’m completely self taught.

Now, there are several ways I could go about documenting the challenge, which took place Friday night, but I decided the best way would be visually.  The pictures are fun, and the real payoff comes at the end where I have posted all of the judges comment cards…

Yes, I’m fully aware that my collage skills are bullshit.

I don’t remember who won, as I was somewhat inebriated by the end of the tasting, but perhaps the cool kids upstairs can recollect, as they orchestrated the event.  In the end though, It doesn’t really concern me which bear won, because hey, FREE GUMMY BEARS! (Anyway everyone knows Albanese 12 Flavor are the best!)

Here’s something fun: For some post Halloween/pre-Thanksgiving entertainment, you can help fund a horror movie called The Giant Spider by horror movie maven Christopher Mihm, and get sweet jams in return! Now, I know what you’re thinking and yes, this is THAT Christopher Mihn who is also behind the 2008 masterpiece Cave Women on Mars!

Click here to buy the “Tribute to the Mihmiverse” by super cool band Bad Horse (Think One Direction meets Tom Petty meets Three 6 Mafia). Details here:  www.giantspiderfundraiser.bandcamp.com

Do you like music? How about schlocky horror films? Do you like gummy bears? What’s your favorite brand? Flavor? What rad shit did you do this weekend?  Also, since not enough people entered the photo caption contest, there was no winner.  Instead, I sent the prizes to my friend Gwyn, and she didn’t even enter! Maybe next time you’ll all try harder instead of constantly disappointing your parents.

About Ziggy Smallz

I rarely commit to anything, especially blogging. That is, except eating. I like to constantly taste new things. Whether it's a Bangkok back alley soup stand, or some weird veggie I pickled myself, I want to eat it. Except eggplant, because I'm strangely allergic to it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

